Nestled among the fertile rolling hills in the central region of the state is the community of St. John. This farming and ranching community lies about five miles southwest of Schulenburg, Texas. The earliest settlers in the area of St. John were English speaking American members of the Stephen F. Austin Colony, which was established in 1860. The first small school was erected about 1875.
On the arrival of the German and Czech pioneers in 1870 a Catholic school was deemed necessary to teach the moral and religious, as well as, intellectual culture to the children. In 1882, building of the parochial school began and was completed the same year. The school was built on a grant of land donated by John Klesel, a generous pioneer of the newly established community. The completion of this school was the chief incentive for the beginning of the parish.
Major Brands of Beer
Major Brands of Soda
Souvenir T-shirts & Caps
Questions or comments about the annual St. John 4th of July Picnic?
Leave us a message and we will get back to you.